Insider problem... SOLVED!!!

Discussion - ID:Series amplifiers.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jim Belaye
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 10:33 pm
Location: Canada

Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:01 pm

Hello

I have a major problem with the Insider software, again! :(
I did a clean install on my PC and now I can not use Insider.
Usually it's related to Microsoft Silverlight or Internet Explorer.
In the past all I had to do is lower the security in Internet Explorer.

I am running Windows 7 64 bits, with the latest version of Silverlight and Explorer.
With Insider 1.7.6 I get this : One or more ActiveX controls could not be displayed.
This scenario I can not access the software at all.

With Insider 1.6.2 and older version of Silverlight I get this :
Blackstar INSIDER has stopped working and BlackstarINSIDERLauncherPC stopped working
This scenario I can open Insider but it does not recognize my amp. ID:15TVP

HELP PLEASE!!! I love my amp but I hate the Insider software.

Have a nice day.

- Jim
Attachments
Insider problem 1.jpg
Insider problem 1.jpg (24.63 KiB) Viewed 12014 times
Insider problem 2a.jpg
Insider problem 2a.jpg (28.39 KiB) Viewed 12014 times
Insider problem 2b.jpg
Insider problem 2b.jpg (28.37 KiB) Viewed 12014 times
Last edited by Jim Belaye on Wed Jun 29, 2016 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
flimbo
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:53 pm

Wed Jun 29, 2016 2:36 pm

Have you installed Microsoft .net framework? I think that's involved too.

User avatar
Jim Belaye
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 10:33 pm
Location: Canada

Wed Jun 29, 2016 8:32 pm

I solved my problem. :) This is what I did...

1- Open Internet Explorer.
2- Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options.
3- On the Security tab, click the Custom level button.
4 -Scroll down the Security Settings list until you see ActiveX controls and plug-ins.
5- For Automatic prompting for ActiveX controls, click Enable.
6- Scroll down to Download signed ActiveX controls and click Enable or Prompt.
7- Scroll down to Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins and click Enable or Prompt.
8- Scroll down to Script ActiveX controls marked safe for scripting and click Enable or Prompt.
9- Click OK, and then click OK again

10- Also don't install Siverlight. Install it after you install Blackstar Insider. (1.7.0.22)
11- Then when you start Insider, you will get the message to install Silverlight.

I want to thank Tom Craig from Blackstar. I wrote to them and they responded very quickly.
I have found this solution with Tom's help. I hope it will help other members with this problem.

- Jim 8-)

User avatar
flimbo
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:53 pm

Wed Jun 29, 2016 9:13 pm

The Insider software shouldn't need all this extra crap installed and hoops that you need to jump through to get it loaded. As it stands, it's a mess that barely works. It needs a total rewrite from scratch.

User avatar
Jim Belaye
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 10:33 pm
Location: Canada

Wed Jun 29, 2016 9:30 pm

flimbo wrote:The Insider software shouldn't need all this extra crap installed and hoops that you need to jump through to get it loaded. As it stands, it's a mess that barely works. It needs a total rewrite from scratch.
I totally agree with you. That's what I wrote to Blackstar.
They should not rely on Microsoft software for Insider.

McSmart
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 8:59 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:59 am

Thanks a lot for sharing, Jim :!:

These "11 steps from hell" are proving again what a pile of rubbish the Insider software is :lol:

Great amps, poor software :(

Steve Mavronis
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:31 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Sat Jul 09, 2016 5:12 am

This didn't work for me. That is it 'worked' the first time after making the IE security changes and waiting for Insider to prompt for Silverlight which installed and then Insider launched successfully. But when I exited Insider and re-launched it, just sits there again saying reading amp patches, waiting...

Insider worked all the time under Windows Vista 32-bit but never works with my new Windows 10 64-bit computer. I can only get Insider to work if I launch it with my Blackstar amp turned off first, then turn it on. Then I can operate all the controls affecting the amp sound. It's supposed to work the other way around with the amp on before launching Insider..

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests